Familiar Smell

front-door

Why does this house smell so familiar?

Making me nostalgic of my home so far away,

Bringing me faint memories of yesterday.

 

Why does this house suddenly smell so familiar?

In this new place that I am destined to stay,

With no hope of seeing my home again.

 

Why did the house start smelling so familiar?

Into my slumber it penetrates, permeates;

Remembering summer, thoughts I had left to deteriorate.

 

When I wake up the smell is gone,

And all that I have left to remember it,

Is fading away with the morning mist.

Leave a Reply

