It’s Only Relative

Jacaranda Street

We walked down a sunny road

With spring throughout the air

But my mind was in darker thoughts.

I looked over at him; talented, smart and cool

His aura overwhelming mine.

How can he be so amazing?

I explained to him what was in my head.

 

“Everyone I meet is more talented than me;

Actors, musicians, writers, poets,

For their next work is the world waiting.

 

Everyone I meet is cooler than me;

Talkative, friendly, easy-going,

With splendid tricks up their sleeve.

 

Everyone I know is smarter than me;

Scientists, math whizzes, inventors,

They are overflowing with creativity.

 

What could have possibly gone wrong with me?

Talent-less, foolish, idiot;

Why is everyone so far ahead of me?”

 

He then turned and said to me,

“Are they truly all that cool, so smart, very talented?

I will tell you what I truly believe.

All these things you mentioned,

Are only relative to whom is seeing.

If only you could see what I see in you,

Then you would finally believe.”

3 thoughts on “It’s Only Relative

Leave a Reply

