No Voice

christmas-town

In this time of praise

Many rejoice

The birth of a son

Earth was his choice

But I alone find

That I have no voice

To praise his choice

 

When I open my lips

To shout my praise

The wind rushes by

And takes it away

My pen only writes

Blank words on a page

Yet not a word of praise

 

In this complacency

I find

That still your goodness

Is far too kind

Even though I have not

Surrendered my mind

You are still too kind

 

In my heart

I understand

That you came down

And died as a man

Salvation has come

To this land

My mind fails to understand

 

So I climb to the top

Of the highest hill

I search for you there

I wait there until

The stars come out

In them I see your will

I find it there in those hills

 

Can I at last

Surrender there

No longer be

Unaware

Or will I stand

In the serpent’s snare

Unaware?

 

Leave a Reply

